tourtools

Fake Pharmaceutical sites

So you’re looking to save some money by buying prescription drugs online from a site that doesn’t require a prescription. Well good for you. But, there is a VERY high possibility that you will not only lose your money, but you may also have your credit card maxed out in short order.

Since I would hate to see you get ripped off, lets see if we can arm you with a bit of info to help you spot the fake pharmaceutical sites.

Scammers can be slightly cleaver. VERY slightly!
When visiting one of these fake pharmaceutical sites, at first glance it looks legit. But, if you take 10 seconds to really look at the page, you’ll see very quickly that it’s nothing more than a scam.

So just how can you tell if it’s fake? Well, lets take a look at one and see what clues we can find.

The first red flag can be found in the URL.

This is a red flag!
humm…now why would AmeriTrust be hosted in a sub folder (amer1trust.com) of jenniferspangler.com? Yep that’s a freaking BIG red flag!!
A legitimate pharmaceutical company will never pull this trick.
Plus since this site is owned by a Russian Scumbag, they don’t have a clue how to secure a server. Sooo, if you go to jenniferspangler.com you can browse the files!

Yep! Scammers are not all there!

Now, lets take a look at the header of the page.

Typical Pharmaceutical Scam Template
The template for this site is very popular among pharmaceutical scam sites. Normally, the only difference between sites are the company name and sometimes the phone numbers. But the basic layout and colors are the same.
Also, make note of the US phone number. You’ll see why in a bit.

Now lets look at the “Safe & Secure Order Processing”

This should make you feel safe! If it was REAL!
Notice it says “GeoTrust and McAfee Secure”?
Nowhere on the site will you find anything pertaining to either services. No badges, SSL certificates…etc. Especially on the “Check Out” page!!

That’s three red flags and we’re only at the bottom of the header. But we’re not done yet.
Lets take a look at the menu, shall we?

They can't even setup a simple menu!!!
Although it looks like a menu complete with links, it’s not. All the links will take you to the “Top of the Page”, no mater what page you’re on.
Yep! They can’t read English, thus they can ‘t read the setup instructions included with the template. LOL!!!

That’s enough time spent on the front page! Let’s place some fake drugs in our fake shopping cart and head over to the “Secure” checkout.
This is where the illusion of being a real pharmaceutical company goes right out the window.
First off the checkout page…is NOT secure, as you can plainly see by the missing “https” in the URL.

What happened to the Secure checkout???

As we scroll down the page inputting fake information into all the fields, we come to the “Payment Options”.

Western Union!! A scammers prefered payment method!!
This site accepts credit cards and for your convenience, if you don’t have a CC, Western Union.
OMG!!!
This bloody SCREAMS scam!!
Since this is sooo in your face stupid, we have to choose Western Union and see what happens.
The next image took me 2 HOURS to get! Mainly because I was laughing so freaking hard.

You just gotta LOVE the "How to send money illegally"
Oh my!
Here we have a supposedly legitimate pharmaceutical company selling prescription drugs, without the need of a prescription, telling you how to get around Western Union’s rules and send them money illegally.

Now boys and girls….THAT is FUNNY!!!!
And a scam in every meaning of the word.
Oh, if you notice, the money is going to Russia, while on the “About Us” page, it says they are located in the UK, but unfortunately they don’t have an address there.

There are MANY MORE clues that the site is a fake. But it would take hour to read through all the red flags. So we’ll just leave it here, as I think you get the point.

In closing, Just remember to actually READ what is on any site that you are thinking of purchasing goods or services from.
Look at the URL– Does it go with the company or is it something way off.
Check out their “About Us” page  —- is it just a bunch of crap that contradicts its self?
Look for a REAL address and phone number of the company. —-and make sure it’s their real information and not one they just borrowed.
Make darn sure the “secure order” page, REALLY IS secure.
And don’t ever pay for anything with Western Union!

Oh, remember that US phone number I asked you to make note of? Well, just in case you haven’t figured it out yet, it’s fake. Right along with the other 3 US numbers they list.